12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Louisiana State Laws


Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
Daytime Use of Headlight
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Required by law unless equipped with windscreen; LRS 32: 190.1
Handlebar Height

Not above shoulder height; LRS 32: 191.3

Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; LRS 32:191.1
Maximum Sound Level
No acoustical criteria.
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One on left side required by law; LRS 32:354
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; LRS 32:191.1
Required; LRS 32:352
Passenger Age Restriction
Prohibited under 5 years of age. Child must be properly seated. Helmet required; LRS 32: 191
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; LRS 32: 191.3
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; LRS 32: 191
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law; LRS 32:1304
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants; LA Highway Safety Commission
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill Test
Safety Helmet
Required by law; Louisiana Revised Statutes 32: 190
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(10/20/10)
Turn Signals
Not required; LRS 32:306

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Not Required
Maximum Sound Level
No Limit
Minimum Operator Age
No Restriction
Not Required
Operator License
Not Required
Required by law except street-registered OHMs and OHMs in races.
Rider Education Certification
Not Required
Safety Helmet
Required if under age 18
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Not Required
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Required by law.


Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii