Three riders win AMA National Championships at 2019 AMA Extreme Off-Road Grand Championship

Lettenbichler, LeBlond, Gutish earn AMA No. 1 plates at Kenda AMA Tennessee Knockout competition

The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates Manuel Lettenbichler, Ryder LeBlond and Rachel Gutish on their winning performances during the...

AMA EnduroCross National Championship Series kicks off Aug. 24

Three-round, American Motorcyclist Association-sanctioned series to use all-new event format

The three-round 2019 AMA EnduroCross National Championship Series features events in three states and is promoted by Tod Hammock of City Cycle...

2019 AMA Land Speed Grand Championship takes place Aug. 24-29

Hundreds of competitors take aim at land speed records on Bonneville Salt Flats

The Bonneville Salt Flats will be alive with the sound of motorcycle engines once again during the 2019 AMA Land Speed Grand Championship, Aug. 24-29.

American Motorcyclist Association adds Motorcycle Shippers as member benefit partner

Company offers discounts to AMA members

The American Motorcyclist Association welcomes Motorcycle Shippers as a member benefit partner, providing AMA members with savings of $25 per bike...

Lettenbichler crowned AMA Extreme Off-Road National Champion at 2019 Kenda AMA Tennessee Knockout

German rider bests 58 competitors for title Sunday

Sunday at the 2019 Kenda AMA Tennessee Knockout started with 59 riders battling for one AMA No. 1 plate and ended with Manuel Lettenbichler...


AMA Press Releases

Thirty-six national champions crowned at 2019 Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by Lucas Oil

Jalek Swoll named Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award winner

AMA Press Release

PICKERINGTON, Ohio — The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates the 33 motocross racers who claimed 36 class championships and the four AMA racing award winners at the 2019 Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship.

The nation's official amateur motocross championship took place July 29-Aug. 3 at Loretta's Lynn's Dude Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn., for the 37th consecutive year. It featured more than 1,500 entries competing on a track that is used solely for the event.

Among the AMA Racing Award winners is 2019 Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award winner Jalek Swoll. The award recognizes the rider best prepared for the professional ranks, based on their attitude, enthusiasm and past performances as an amateur. Swoll, from Belleview, Fla., is the 2018 AMA Amateur Motocross Racer of the Year and won the Open Pro Sport Class title at the 2019 edition of the event.

Pictured, left to right, AMA Motocross Coordinator Alexandria Kovacs, Mike Brown, Maximus Vohland, Jalek Swoll, Jarrett Frye and AMA Motocross Manager Alex Hunter. Photo by Christian Munoz

Other riders who won AMA Racing Awards at the event are 2019 AMA Youth Motocross Racer of the Year Maximus Vohland of Granite Bay, Calif., 2019 AMA Vet/Senior Motocross Racer of the Year Mike Brown from Bristol, Tenn., and 2019 AMA Amateur Motocross Racer of the Year Jarrett Frye of Mechanicsville, Md.

"It was very difficult to choose the winners of the AMA Racing Awards with so many outstanding performances at this year's event," AMA Motocross Manager Alex Hunter said. "Jalek Swoll, Maximus Vohland, Mike Brown and Jarrett Frye put in incredible rides at the most challenging amateur motocross racing event in the nation and are deserving winners of their awards.

"I also congratulate all of our 2019 class champions," Hunter said. "They triumphed over the toughest competition they could have faced and are all worthy of their AMA No. 1 plates."

The winners of each competition class are recognized as AMA national champions and are awarded AMA National No. 1 plates. They will be honored as part of 2019 AMA Legends & Champions Weekend in Columbus, Ohio, Dec. 6-7. Banquet tickets will be available soon at

"Each year, the success of the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship is made possible by the support and partnership the AMA receives from MX Sports," AMA Racing Director Kevin Crowther said. "The team at MX Sports does an outstanding job as the organizer of this great event."

Crowther also thanked all of the AMA staff and volunteers who played a critical part in the overall success of the event.

2019 AMA Amateur National Motocross Champions

Open Pro Sport: Jalek Swoll, Belleview, Fla.
250 Pro Sport: Hardy Munoz, Culloden, Ga.
250 B: Stilez Robertson, Bakersfield, Calif.
250 B Limited: Mason Gonzales, Fort Walton Beach, Fla.
250 C: Dylan Cunha, Modesto, Calif.
250 C Limited: Derek Leatherman, New Oxford, Pa.
250 C Jr. (12-17) Limited: Cameron Harrison, China Spring, Texas
450 B: Matthew LeBlanc, Breaux Bridge, La.
450 B Limited: Hunter Yoder, Menifee, Calif.
450 C: Tyler Foster, Culloden, Ga.
125 C: Hunter Nitsch, Skaneateles, N.Y.
College (18-24): McClellan Hile, Atascadero, Calif.
Junior (25+): Michael Brown, Bristol, Tenn.
Vet (30+): Nicholas Hayes, Chester, Va.
Senior (40+): Michael Brown, Bristol, Tenn.
Senior (45+): John Bowlin, Abingdon, Md.
Masters (50+): John Grewe, Rockford, Mich.
Women: Jazzmyn Canfield, Cape Coral, Fla.
Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/C: Jarrett Frye, Mechanicsville, Md.
51cc (4-6) Special Limited: Kade Nightingale, Mounds, Okla.
51cc (4-6) Shaft Drive Limited: Braxton Baldock, Liberty, Ky.
51cc (4-6) Limited: Bode Bradford, Midland, Texas
51cc (7-8) Limited: Ryder Ellis, North Fork, Calif.
65cc (7-9) Limited: Caden Dudney, Athens, Texas
65cc (7-9): Landon Gibson, Peachtree City, Ga.
65cc (10-11) Limited: Landen Gordon, Atascadero, Calif.
65cc (10-11): Luke Fauser, Midland, Pa.
85cc (10-12) Limited: Daxton Bennick, Morgantown, N.C.
85cc (10-12): Haiden Deegan, Temecula, Calif.
Mini Sr. 1 (12-14): Nicholas Romano, Bayside, N.Y.
Mini Sr. 2 (13-15): Nicholas Romano, Bayside, N.Y.
Supermini 1 (12-15): Maximus Vohland, Granite Bay, Calif.
Supermini 2 (13-16): Maximus Vohland, Granite Bay, Calif.
125cc (12-17) B/C: Gage Linville, Lake Park, Ga.
Schoolboy 1 (12-17) B/C: Jeremy Ryan, Morgan Hill, Calif.
Girls (11-16): Mikayla Nielsen, Riverside, Calif.

Industry Press Releases

Harley-Davidson launches new motorcycle models and technology for 2020

Debut of the electric LiveWire motorcycle and the return of the legendary Low Rider S model

New models, new technologies, and more customer choices are featured in the expansive lineup of Harley-Davidson motorcycles for 2020.The new...

Motorcycle Industry Council launches initiative to attract new riders

Strategic plan to be revealed at AIMExpo in September

The Motorcycle Industry Council is launching a broad, long-term initiative to bring more people into the world of motorcycling.

2020 Pikes Peak International Hill Climb will not include a motorcycle program while analysis for long-term viability is conducted

The Board of Directors of the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb recently convened to review the 2019 event. It was decided that in order to...

Beta Motorcycle announces 2020 RR and RR-S models

The future has arrived

Beta is proud to launch the 2020 RR and RR-S models. These models are all new and represents a new generation for the RR and RR-S range.

Powersports trade and safety associations announce CEO succession plan

MIC, MSF chief Tim Buche to move to consultant role

The boards of the Motorcycle Industry Council (MIC), Specialty Vehicle Institute of America (SVIA), Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF), and...