February 5th, 2014 —
The AMA Office will be closed today due to inclement weather and treacherous road conditions in Central Ohio.
Skip Navigation LinksNews / Racing News
All news

Ryan Abrigo big winner at 2013 GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX

May 06, 2013

The 10th annual GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX took place inside the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, and Ryan Abrigo was the big winner for the second year in a row. Abrigo won the 12-Inch Expert and World final main event and took a third in the 10-Inch Expert class. In total, there were nearly 300 entries in 15 classes of competition and a large crowd witnessed a lot of exciting racing.

Braaap-backed Michael Blose won the first of the three Expert finals by taking the 10 Inch Expert class. He had a great battle with CHP’s Willy Browning and BBR’s Abrigo.

Abrigo came out swinging in the 12 Inch Expert class and dominated on his new Honda CRF replica BBR mini. Mike Valade again made the long trip from France and earned second position ahead of Italy’s Fancisco Levi.

Fourteen year old Carson Brown dominated the two 13-17 year old Youth classes topping Fouert Thibault and Dillon Thompson in the 10 Inch class. In the 12 Inch Youth class, Brown was chased by Bret Welch and William Bojorquez.

In the 9-12 year old Youth class, ten year old Tristan Edmonds held off repeated pass attempts by Jensen Brown to take the win. Dalton Bolinas took third.

Tatum Sik defended her Women’s class title, which was made sweeter by the fact that multi time WMA champion Ashley Fiolek. Former MMSX women’s champion Jackie Ives rounded out the podium.

In the 10 Inch Amateur class, Gauthier Gourjault made the trip from France pay off with a win. Austin Tessitore and Kevin Popaeko rounded out the podium.

The 12 Inch Amateur class was won by Zach Martino but the crowd was cheering on Tatum Sik, who had just won the Women’s final in the race immediately before. Drake Williams took third.

The Vet 35+ class, it was SSR-mounted Jeff Willow winning for the second year in a row. The former top Supercross and ArenaCross racer dominated the class and also competed in the Expert classes.

The 16 Inch Amateur class was won by Shawn Rhinehart over his good friend Daniel Maynet. Scott White took the final podium position.

The 8 Inch and Vintage class was won by Jake Osbourne. Zac Hayes, the defending champion finished second and Joshua Sheffer was third.

Jake Osbourn took a second win in the 10 Inch Stock/Mod class. Joshua Sheffer was second and Austin Parr rounded out the podium.

The 12 Inch Stock/Mod class was won by Austin Parr with his second podium of the night. Derek Cappiello and Anthony Esposito shared the podium in second and third.

The final race of the evening takes all of the podium finishers from the Expert, Youth and Women’s classes as well as the top International riders for the World Final. Abrigo and Blose had an amazing back and forth battle for the top spot that went all the way to the last lap with Abrigo taking a narrow victory despite losing his brakes and blowing a few turns. France’s Valade rounded out the podium.

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati Del.icio.us NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark