Skip Navigation LinksNews
All news

Chris Borich holds the points lead heading into Round 8 of the 2014 AMSOIL GNCC series

June 03, 2014

The following is an industry press release...

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. (June 3, 2014) - The 2014 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series presented by Maxxis, an AMA National Championship, returns to Millfield, Ohio this weekend, June 7 and 8, for the 25th running of the Wiseco John Penton GNCC. 

With five wins in seven rounds, Team Maxxis' Chris Borich controls the overall points lead heading into this weekend's race. The 5-time GNCC Champion is no stranger to the John Penton racecourse, as he holds six overall wins there. In fact, Borich's tally actually ties him with 9-time GNCC Champion Bill Ballance for the most overall wins at the venue, which is home to renowned motocross track Sunday Creek Raceway.

Walker Fowler was our winner in West Virginia, and he has been the only other rider able to beat Borich in 2014  Photo: Ken Hill

However, Borich may have his work cut out for him as N-Fab AmPro Yamaha's Walker Fowler edged Borich out for the overall win at the previous round in West Virginia. Fowler has been the only rider able to beat Borich in 2014, and with the momentum of the previous race leading him into the John Penton, Fowler will have his eyes set on the top step of the podium in his home state of Ohio. Tires/'s Adam McGill has also proven himself to be a front-runner in the 2014 season. After a tough race at the opening round in Florida, McGill has come from behind to move into the third place spot in the overall championship standings. A feat he made happen through consistent top-five finishes, including four trips to the podium already this season. 

Adam McGill has been consistent in 2014, he currently sits third in the championship points  Photo: Ken Hill

The list of contenders doesn't end there, as Precision/Maxxis Tires Chris Bithell sits in the fourth place position in the championship standings. While Bithell has been struck by bad luck in the form of mechanical issues at two rounds, he has also proven that consistency is key in remaining in the championship hunt. With three podium finishes in the 2014 season, Bithell will be looking to rebound after a mechanical issue forced him out of contention at the previous round. 

Another rider with podium hopes is that of DWT Racing's Jarrod McClure. With multiple top five finishes and an impressive second place at round three, McClure is no stranger to the lead pack and will be hunting for a podium finish on Saturday. 

Chris Bithell is ready to rebound at John Penton after suffering from mechanical issues in the previous round  Photo: Ken Hill

Dave Bayless Motorsports/Dirtworks/DC Cycles-backed Brycen Neal holds the seventh place points position, followed by GT Thunder-backed Brian Wolf, SICC Racing/Maxxis-backed Marshal Goings and DeRisi Racing/Team Woodhead's Braden Henthorn rounds out the top ten as he rebuilds from a recent jaw surgery.

N-Fab AmPro Yamaha's Cole Richardson holds sixth place in the overall championship standings from the XC2 Pro Am class. However, with three wins behind him the season, Indiana's Marshal Goings leads the way in the XC2 Pro Am standings. Goings holds a mere five-point advantage over Richardson in second, while Martin Christofferson sits in third in the championship standings. 

With three wins so far, Can-Am X-Team's Kevin Trantham holds a solid lead in the 4x4 Pro class after seven rounds of racing. Trantham has put forth many consistent podium finishes, finishing inside the top five all season. ATV Parts Plus/Can-Am's Bryan Buckhannon sits second in the championship standings with one victory behind him in 2014. Another race winner, BNR Motorsports/Loctite Can-Am's Robert Smith, sits in the third place position, just ahead of Factory Polaris/Coldcock Whiskey's Rick Cecco in fourth, while Factory Polaris/UXC Racing's Michael Swift rounds out the top five.

The Coastal National Guard Polaris team is only one-point behind the leader in the UTV XC1 Modified class  Photo: Ken Hill

After three rounds of Side-by-Side racing, the Can-Am Chaney Racing team, led by Kyle Chaney, will head into their home state of Ohio this Saturday with the points lead in the championship standings. However, West Virginia native Scott Kiger and the Coastal National Guard Polaris team sits only one-point behind in the standings. And just one point back in the third place position is another Ohio native Tim Farr and the Can-Am/JB Racing 41 team, making for an exciting battle at the fourth round of the SxS championship this Saturday. 

Youth ATV racing will take place on Saturday at 8 a.m., followed by amateurs, 4x4 Pro and Women at 10 a.m., and the top amateurs and pros at 1 p.m. Following Saturday's afternoon race, Round 4 of UTV racing will take place at 4:30 p.m.

Jay Shadron took the holeshot in the XC1 Pro ATV class  Photo: Ken Hill

Adult (12+) gate admission is $20 for the full weekend and $10 for kids (6-11). Kids five and under are free. All admission includes pro pit access. Local racers are invited to compete at this event, as GNCC Racing offers classes for riders of all skill and experience levels. The amateur racer entry fee is $40 and riders can sign up at the track.

Tune into on Saturday at 1 p.m. EST to catch LIVE coverage of the Pro ATV race at Round 8. For more information on GNCC Live coverage, visit

Stay up-to-date with exclusive content from the AMSOIL GNCC Series by following the series Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Previous Round Results:

Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Mountaineer Run GNCC
Masontown, West Virginia
Round 7 of 13
Saturday, May 24

XC1 Event Results:

  1. Walker Fowler (YAM)
  2. Chris Borich (SUZ)
  3. Adam McGill (HON)
  4. Jay Shadron (YAM)
  5. Brent Sturdivant (HON)
  6. Landon Wolfe (SUZ)
  7. Jarrod McClure (HON)
  8. Josh Merritt (YAM)
  9. Brian Wolf (HON)
  10. Kevin Yoho (YAM)

*Overall National Championship Standings: 

  1. Chris Borich (196)
  2. Walker Fowler (158)
  3. Adam McGill (128)
  4. Chris Bithell (103)
  5. Jarrod McClure (102)
  6. Cole Richardson (87)
  7. Brycen Neal (70)
  8. Brian Wolf (68)
  9. Marshal Goings (68)
  10. Braden Henthorn (67)

*Indicates that the Overall National Championship Standings will determine the 2014 National Champion.

XC2 Event Results:

  1. Cole Richardson (YAM)
  2. Marshal Goings (HON)
  3. Martin Christofferson (HON)
  4. Blake Kramer (YAM)
  5. Randy Hamilton
  6. Jonathan Fugate (HON)
  7. Luke Upah (HON)
  8. Luke Shepherd (HON)
  9. James Green (HON)
  10. Thomas Koontz Jr (YAM)

XC2 Series Standings: 

  1. Marshal Goings (175)
  2. Cole Richardson (170)
  3. Martin Christofferson (132)
  4. Fred Marley (109)
  5. James Green (96)
  6. Randy Hamilton (94)
  7. Thomas Koontz (87)
  8. Blake Kramer (87)
  9. Jonathan Fugate (83)
  10. Brody Livengood (61) 

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark