Skip Navigation LinksNews
All news

Chad Wienen wins Rossville, Ind., ATV motocross round

May 13, 2013

Chad Wienen taking a jump on his ATV.

Defending champion Chad Wienen (above) took the win at the Wildcat Creek MX round of the AMA Mountain Dew ATV Motocross National Championship Series in Rossville, Ind., on May 11.

Joel Hetrick grabbed the Fastest Qualifier Award, taking first gate pick heading into the first moto.

Josh Upperman, aboard his Baldwin Motorsports PEP Upperman Racing machine, grabbed his first SSi Decals holeshot award of the 2013 season in moto 1. But it wasn't long before Hetrick, who came out of the first turn in second place, found his way around Upperman to take over the lead. From there, Hetrick found a comfortable pace in front of the rest of the field and was able to maintain the lead to take the win.

John Natalie, on his Motoworks DWT machine, finished second.

Wienen had a bad jump off the gate in the first moto and had to make his way up through the field. The Wienen Motorsports SSi Walsh Yamaha presented by Maxxis Tires & Team Vollmer rider came out of the first turn barely inside the top 10 but made quick passes to reach the fifth-place spot within a few laps. After battling his way through the field, Wienen was able to grab third place at the finish.

As the gate dropped for the second, Thoms Brown grabbed his first-ever SSi Decals Pro Holeshot Award.

Brown's teammate, Wienen, came off the line right behind Brown and took over the lead before the end of lap one. Wienen then put his head down and rode his own race to the checkers and the win.

“Really happy to get to that top spot on the box again today. My YFZ450R was really working great out on the track and I was able to maneuver it how I needed. I had a bad start to moto one and knew I really needed to focus on the gate drop for moto two and I was able to come out towards the front and make the pass for the lead early on,” Wienen said.

Results: 1. Chad Wienen, Yamaha, 2. Joe Byrd, Honda, 3. Thomas Brown, Yamaha, 4. Josh Creamer, Can-Am, 5. Joel Hetrick, Honda, 6. Kyle Fix, Honda, 7. Adam Clark, Honda, 8. John Natalie, Honda, 9. Tyler Hamrick, Honda, 10. Nick Moser, Honda. 


AMA ATV Motocross Championship Pro Point Standings

1. Chad Wienen (176) 2. Joel Hetrick (150) 3. Thomas Brown (150) 4. Josh Creamer (144) 5. Josh Upperman (126) 6. John Natalie (123) 7. Joe Byrd (99) 8. Nick Denoble (90) 9. Jeffrey Rastrelli (88) 10. Tyler Hamrick (72)

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark