Skip Navigation LinksNews
All news

AMA Pro Hillclimb: Redmann for the win

October 03, 2012

Story by Jeff Whitehead

Nate Redmann clinched the 2012 AMA Pro Hillclimb Tilt-A-Rack Xtreme Class Championship, his fourth in a row, with a decisive win in round eight at Jefferson, PA. Jay Sallstrom topped the Wiseco Unlimited Class podium, narrowing rival Vinny Nuzzolilli's points lead to eight. Rookie Nick Drummer took the win in Pro Sport in just his second appearance on the circuit.

Redmann chalked up his seventh Xtreme Class win for 2012 with a 7.02 E.T. on his first run, also setting fast time of the day in all classes. Redmann's win makes him untouchable in the series championship with a 41-point lead over his nearest contender, Phil Libhart. Libhart crested at 7.412 seconds at Jefferson, finishing in second. Scott Wentz, Jr. threw a tire chain on his first run but came back for a third-place finish on his second attempt.

Pro Sport rider Drummer rode early and fast, setting the time to beat at 8.598 seconds. 2011 Champ, Ian Lau dropped an 8.691 E.T. for second. Points leader, Chris Chartier, Jr. rounded out the podium in third. Chartier holds a nineteen-point lead over Lau going into the final round.

The battle for the 2012 title in the Wiseco Unlimited Class heated up with 2011 Champ Sallstrom in the lead at the half. Points Leader, Nuzzolilli battled back after a disappointing first run by posting a 7.335-second time, shaving nearly a half-second off Sallstrom's score. Colby McCutcheon wedged into second, temporarily, then Sallstrom rode last and fast for the win at 7.269 seconds.

AMA Pro Hillclimbers will crown their champions after the final round at Oregonia, OH on October 14.


U/L: 1. Jay Sallstrom (Yam); 2. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon); 3. Colby McCutcheon (Yam); 4. Alex Benner (Hon); 5. Tiger Strank (Hon).

Xtreme: 1. Nate Redmann (Yam); 2. Phil Libhart (Tri); 3. Scott Wentz, Jr. (Hon); 4. Colby McCutcheon (Hon); 5. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon).

Pro Sport: 1. Nick Drummer (Hon); 2. Ian Lau (Hon); 3. Chris Chartier, Jr. (Hon); 4. Andrew Coyne (Hon); 5. Devin Sweitzer (Hon).

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark