February 5th, 2014 —
The AMA Office will be closed today due to inclement weather and treacherous road conditions in Central Ohio.
Skip Navigation LinksAbout / For the Media / Hall of Fame Press Release
Hall of Fame Press Release

Contact: James Holter
Phone: (614) 856-1900, EXT. 1280
E-mail: jholter@ama-cycle.org


All news

Jay Sallstrom takes Unlimited Class win in Jefferson, Pa.

October 02, 2013

By Jeff Whitehead

Jay Sallstrom took the Unlimited Class win at round seven of the AMA Pro Hillclimb Series, sponsored by Wiseco and PsychMXGrafix. Phil Libhart clinched the Xtreme Class win while posting the day's fastest time in all classes. Newcomer, Broc Williamson won the Pro Sport Class.

In Unlimited, Nuzzolilli set the pace 7.513 seconds, but was eclipsed by Sallstrom's 7.339-second ride. Libhart rode last, edging out Greg Dunbar for third with a 7.626 E.T. The order remained unchanged in the second half, but not for lack of effort- Nuzzolilli crashed trying to retake the lead, taking a trip to the hospital instead.

Xtreme Class drama was all about the second half, with riders gunning for Libhart's leading 7.672-second first-half time. Nuzzolilli rode a tenth-second faster and Sallstrom shaved 0.05 of a second off that, forcing Libhart to ride. Libhart did not disappoint, laying down a flawless, fan pleasing ride, cresting in just 7.311 seconds for the win.

Pro Sport riders found their groove in the first half with Williamson setting the winning time at 9.344 seconds early in the order. Molly Carbon moved into second with a 9.863 E.T. only to see points leader, Nick Bleau, edge into second with a 9.478-second run.

In Unlimited Class series points Nuzzolilli and Sallstrom are numerically tied for the lead, with Nuzzolilli ahead based on finishes. John Koester trails them by 15 points but leads the Xtreme Class with 155 points, seven more than Sallstrom and 17 over Libhart. Bleau dominates Pro Sport with 154 points, a nearly untouchable lead over Devin Sweitzer's 130 and Carbon’s 129. 


U/L: 1. Jay Sallstrom (Yam); 2. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon); 3. Phil Libhart (Tri); 4. Greg Dunbar (Yam); 5. John Koester (Hon).

Xtreme: 1. Phil Libhart (Tri); 2. Jay Sallstrom (Yam); 3. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon); 4. John Koester (Hon); 5. Jockamo Baldina (Hon).

Pro Sport: 1. Broc Williamson (Hon); 2. Nick Bleau (Hon); 3. Molly Carbon (Hon); 4. Nick Drummer (Hon); 5. Lester Kline (KTM).

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati Del.icio.us NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

About the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation

Founded in 1990 by the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation, the goal of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame is to tell the stories and preserve the history of motorcycling. Located on the campus of the American Motorcyclist Association in Pickerington, Ohio, the Hall of Fame's three major exhibition halls feature the machines and memorabilia of those who have contributed notably to the sport. The Motorcycle Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to motorcycling, including those known for their contributions to road riding, off-road riding and all categories of racing, as well as those who have excelled in business, history, design and engineering. More information can be found at MotorcycleMuseum.org.