February 5th, 2014 —
The AMA Office will be closed today due to inclement weather and treacherous road conditions in Central Ohio.
Skip Navigation LinksAbout / For the Media / Hall of Fame Press Release
Hall of Fame Press Release

Contact: James Holter
Phone: (614) 856-1900, EXT. 1280
E-mail: jholter@ama-cycle.org


All news

The 2012 FIM World Champions awarded in Monaco

December 03, 2012

The following is an industry press release...

MONACO (Principality of Monaco), 3 December 2012 – For third year in a row, the FIM celebrated the annual FIM Gala, where all the FIM World Champions were awarded by their achievements during the season. After two consecutive years celebrating the Gala at the Casino of Estoril in Portugal, the FIM changed the location and all the 2012 FIM World Champions were awarded at prestigious ‘Salle des Etoiles’ room of the Sporting Monte-Carlo. Before all the World Champions walked along the red carpet, they took part in a press conferences headed by FIM President Mr. Vito Ippolito at the Monte-Carlo Bay Hotel.

The six-times FIM Motocross World Champion Antonio Cairoli was one of the few athletes who has been to the three editions of the FIM Gala and one more time he was nominated as personality of the year. However, it was Jorge Lorenzo, 2012 FIM MotoGP Champion, who received the award. FIM MX2 World Champion Jeffrey Herlings, FIM MX3 World Champion Matthias Walkner, FIM Women Motocross World Champion Chiara Fontanesi, FIM 125cc Junior Motocross World Champion Tim Gajser, FIM 85cc Junior World Champion Brian Hsu, FIM 65cc Junior Motocross World Champion Caleb Grothues, FIM SuperMoto S1 World Champion Thomas Chareyre and FIM Snowcross World Champion Tucker Hibbert were also present at the FIM Gala and they were all very pleased to be surrounded by the thirty three World Champions. 

2012 FIM 125cc Junior Motocross World Champion Tim Gajser and 2012 FIM 65cc Junior Motocross World Champion Brian Hsu were among the nominated riders for the Rookie of the year award, and it was actually the Slovenian champion who won the award after having received most of the votes by the fans, media, riders, teams and manufacturers. The Charismatic rider Brian Hsu was one of the big surprised of the night when he delighted the more than 500 hundred guests at the FIM Gala making a solo with his violin just before receiving the gold medal by motocross legend Torsten Hallman. Other FIM legends were Mary McGee, Hans Nielsen, Hubert Auriol, Kari Tiainen, Dougie Lampkin and Jim Redman. 

Chiara Fontanesi was nominated for the women of the year award, but it was Laia Sanz, FIM Trial and Enduro World Champion, who received most of the votes. 

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati Del.icio.us NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

About the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation

Founded in 1990 by the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation, the goal of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame is to tell the stories and preserve the history of motorcycling. Located on the campus of the American Motorcyclist Association in Pickerington, Ohio, the Hall of Fame's three major exhibition halls feature the machines and memorabilia of those who have contributed notably to the sport. The Motorcycle Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to motorcycling, including those known for their contributions to road riding, off-road riding and all categories of racing, as well as those who have excelled in business, history, design and engineering. More information can be found at MotorcycleMuseum.org.