February 5th, 2014 —
The AMA Office will be closed today due to inclement weather and treacherous road conditions in Central Ohio.
Skip Navigation LinksAbout / For the Media / AMA Racing Press Release
AMA Racing Press Release

Contact: James Holter
Phone: (614) 856-1900, EXT. 1280
E-mail: jholter@ama-cycle.org


All news

Taddy Blazusiak takes exciting Ontario GEICO EnduroCross win

September 23, 2013

The following is an industry press release...

Ontario, CA (September 21, 2013) – KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak took an exciting win at round three of the 2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross series, fueled by Monster Energy and presented by Lucas Oil in Ontario, California. Mike Brown led for five laps and looked poised to take his third EnduroCross win in a row until a small mistake allowed Blazusiak to take the lead. Beta’s Cody Webb rode a steady race and kept the leaders in sight to take the final podium position.

Brown, JCR Honda’s Colton Haaker and Blazusiak were the three heat race winners but the new night time hot lap format decides the main event gate picks: Haaker set the fastest time over Webb, Blazusiak and Brown. Taylor Robert was the big loser as a crash relegated him to a second row starting position.

Brown took the early lead over Haaker at the start with Gary Sutherlin third and Blazusiak fourth. Haaker stalled his bike on the second lap and Blazusiak had already passed Sutherlin so he was quickly into second. The two KTM riders looked evenly matched until the sixth lap when Brown got held up by a down Geoff Aaron. Blazusiak took advantage of that and squeezed past Brown to take the lead at the halfway point. Brown kept it very close and Webb had also moved to within striking distance after Blazusiak and Brown got hung up in one of the rock sections. Blazusiak was able to hold a safe margin over the last few laps.

Monster Kawasaki’s Robert moved through the field to take fourth ahead of Haaker. Kyle Redmond finished sixth in his first ride on a KTM 250 Two-Stroke. Sutherlin finished seventh, Cory Graffunder was eighth, Justin Soule was ninth and Geoff Aaron rounded out the top ten.

Ontario, California GEICO AMA EnduroCross, Fueled by Monster Energy Expert Main Event results:

  1. Taddy Blazusiak            KTM
  2. Mike Brown                   KTM
  3. Cody Webb                  Beta
  4. Taylor Robert                Kawasaki
  5. Colton Haaker               Honda
  6. Kyle Redmond              KTM
  7. Gary Sutherlin               KTM
  8. Cory Graffunder                        Husqvarna
  9. Justin Soule                  Kawasaki
  10. Geoff Aaron                  KTM
  11. Bobby Prochnau           KTM
  12. Max Gerston                 Beta
  13. Wallace Palmer             Christini

Brown will take a seven point lead over Blazusiak into the next round of the series in Denver, Colorado on October 12th.  Robert maintains third position another ten points back. Brown has 72, Blazusiak 65 and Robert 55.

The night also included several amateur classes and Kurt Nicoll took the Vet class win with a last lap pass to take the lead from runner up, Coby Begin. Canada’s Stephen Foord finished third. Tucker Larrieu won a great three way battle to take the Open Amateur win over Ian Young and Noah Kepple. Ty Cullins won the TrialsCross class over Stephen Morgan and Michael Salsman.  

Canada’s Chantelle Bykerk took the Women’s main event win over Rachel Gutish and Morgan Tanke. It was one of the largest Women’s fields to date with nearly twenty riders competing for the 12 main event spots. 

For more information, please visit www.EnduroCross.com 


2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross, Fueled by Monster Energy Schedule

Location                                   Date                                         Arena / Additional Information

Las Vegas, Nevada                   May 3, 2013                              Orleans Arena (Friday during Supercross weekend)

Sacramento, California              June 8, 2013                             Sleep Train Arena

Ontario, California                     September 21, 2013                  Citizens Business Bank Arena

Denver, Colorado                      October 12, 2013                       National Western Complex

Everett, Washington                  October 26, 2013                       Comcast Arena

Boise, Idaho                             November 9, 2013                     Idaho Center

Las Vegas, Nevada                   November 23, 2013                   Orleans Arena

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati Del.icio.us NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Since 1924, the AMA has protected the future of motorcycling and promoted the motorcycle lifestyle. AMA members come from all walks of life, and they navigate many different routes on their journey to the same destination: freedom on two wheels. As the world's largest motorcycling rights organization, the AMA advocates for motorcyclists' interests in the halls of local, state and federal government, the committees of international governing organizations, and the court of public opinion. Through member clubs, promoters and partners, the AMA sanctions more motorsports competition and motorcycle recreational events than any other organization in the world. AMA members receive money-saving discounts from dozens of well-known suppliers of motorcycle services, gear and apparel, bike rental, transport, hotel stays and more. Through its support of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum, the AMA preserves the heritage of motorcycling for future generations. For more information, please visit AmericanMotorcyclist.com.