February 5th, 2014 —
The AMA Office will be closed today due to inclement weather and treacherous road conditions in Central Ohio.
Skip Navigation LinksAbout / For the Media / AMA Press Release
AMA Press Release

Contact: James Holter
Phone: (614) 856-1900, EXT. 1280
E-mail: jholter@ama-cycle.org


All news

Chad Wienen wins fifth AMA ATV motocross battle in a row

July 08, 2013

Chad Wienen takes a jump on his ATV.

Defending champion Chad Wienen (above) captured his fifth consecutive win of the season at the Steel City round of the AMA ATV Motocross National Championship Series in Delmont, Pa., on July 6.

Pennsylvania native Joel Hetrick made his return to the podium with a second place finish. Thomas Brown was third.

Another Pensylvania native, John Natalie, grabbed the first moto holeshot and led halfway through the moto. Wienen came out of the first turn in third place then moved into second by the fifth lap. He made a pass for first with five laps to go and held on for the win.

In the second moto, Joel Hetrick grabbed the holeshot and held an eight-second lead at the halfway point.  He held on for the win.

Wienen had a good start in the second moto and came out of the first turn in third. With the field still tight, he was able to move into second by lap six, but was unable to gain any time on the front-runner.

But with the second-place finish, Wienen secured his fifth consecutive overall win of the season.

Brown found himself in fifth by the end of the first lap and once again had to work his way up through the field to find a podium finishing position. He put a good charge on the field and was able to move into third before halfway through the moto but was unable to make any more advances. Brown took his sixth third-place finish of the 2013 season.

For more information on the series, go to www.atvmotocross.com.

AMA Pro ATV Results, Delmont, Pa.

1. Chad Wienen, Yamaha 2. Joel Hetrick, Honda 3.Thomas Brown, Yamaha 4. John Natalie, Honda 5. Josh Creamer, Can-Am 6. Josh Upperman, Honda 7. Jeffrey Rastrelli, Can-Am 8. Nick Denoble, Suzuki 9. Tyler Hamrick, Honda 10. Casey Martin, Honda

AMA ATV Motocross Championship Pro Point Standings after seven rounds

1. Chad Wienen (313) 2. Thomas Brown (268) 3. Josh Creamer (249) 4. John Natalie (238) 5. Joel Hetrick (230) 6. Josh Upperman (227) 7. Nick Denoble (172) 8. Jeffrey Rastrelli (169) 9. Joe Byrd (167) 10. Casey Martin (133). 

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati Del.icio.us NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Since 1924, the AMA has protected the future of motorcycling and promoted the motorcycle lifestyle. AMA members come from all walks of life, and they navigate many different routes on their journey to the same destination: freedom on two wheels. As the world's largest motorcycling rights organization, the AMA advocates for motorcyclists' interests in the halls of local, state and federal government, the committees of international governing organizations, and the court of public opinion. Through member clubs, promoters and partners, the AMA sanctions more motorsports competition and motorcycle recreational events than any other organization in the world. AMA members receive money-saving discounts from dozens of well-known suppliers of motorcycle services, gear and apparel, bike rental, transport, hotel stays and more. Through its support of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum, the AMA preserves the heritage of motorcycling for future generations. For more information, please visit AmericanMotorcyclist.com.