Skip Navigation LinksRights > State Laws

Florida State Motorcycle Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
N/A
Daytime Use of Headlight
Required by law; Florida Statutes, 316.405
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Handlebar Height
No higher than top of shoulders of the operator when seated upon the motorcycle; Florida Statutes, 316.2095 (2)
Helmet Speakers
No earphones allowed. Helmet speakers are allowed.
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; Florida Statutes, 316.209 (2), (3);  The operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken. No person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.
Lemon Law Coverage
No.
Maximum Sound Level
Manufactured before 1/1/79--82 dBA (35 mph or less); 86dBA (over 35 mph). Manufactured after 1/1/79--78 dBA (35 mph or less); 82 dBA (over 35 mph). Florida Statutes, 316.293 (2)
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law; Florida Statutes, 316.294
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes. All motorcycles are entitled to full use of a lane and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such manner as to deprive any motorcycle of the full use of a lane. This subsection shall not apply to motorcycles operated two abreast in a single lane. Motorcycles shall not be operated more than two abreast in a single lane; Florida Statutes, 316.209 (1), (4)
Muffler
Required; Florida Statutes, 316.272
No modifications which increase sound to a level higher than the manufacturer's original standand allowed; Florida Statutes, 316.293 (2), (5)
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; Florida Statutes, 316.2095
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; Florida Statutes, 316.2085 (a)
Periodic Safety Inspection
None
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Effective July 1, 2008 all first-time motorcycle license or endorsement applicants must complete a BRC Florida Statutes, 322.12(5)(a)
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
Safety Helmet
Helmets not required for riders over 21 with a minimum of $10,000 in medical insurance; Florida Statutes, 316.211 (1), (4)
State Insurance Requirements
Required:
$10,000 per person bodily injury
$20,000 total bodily injury
$10,000 personal property damage liability
$30,000 single limit liability
Turn Signals

Off Road

Eye Protection
Required if under age 16 and ATV's only
Headlight
An OHV that is operated between sunset and sun rise, or when visibility is reduced because of rain, smoke, smog must display a lighted head lam and tail lamp unless the use of such lights is prohibited by other laws such as a prohibition on the use of lights when hunting at night.
Maximum Sound Level
On and after July 1, 2008, off-highway vehicles, when operating shall be equipped with a silencer or other device which limits sound emissions. Exhaust noise must not exceed 96 decibels in the A-weighting scale for vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1986, or 99 decibels in the A-weighting scale for vehicles manufactured before January 1, 1986, when measured from a distance of 20 inches using test procedures established by the Society of Automotive Engineers under Standard J-1287.
Minimum Operator Age
No Restriction
Muffler
An OHV must be equipped with a spark arrestor that is approved by the United States Department of Agriculture Forest Service, a braking system, and a muffler all in operating condition.
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Not Required
Rider Education Certification
Effective July 1, 2008 while operating an off-highway vehicle , a person who has not attained 16 years of age must have in his or her possession a certificate evidencing the satisfactory completion of an approved OHV safety course in this state or another jurisdiction. A nonresident who has not attained 16 years of age and who is in the state temporarily for period not to exceed 30 days is exempt from this subsection.
Safety Helmet
Required if under age 16 and ATV's only
Spark Arrestor
Required by Law
Taillight
An OHV that is operated between sunset and sun rise, or when visibility is reduced because of rain, smoke, smog must display a lighted head lam and tail lamp unless the use of such lights is prohibited by other laws such as a prohibition on the use of lights when hunting at night.
Trails Program
Available
Vehicle Title
Required
VermontNew HampshireMassachusettsRhode IslandConnecticutNew JerseyDelawareMarylandDistrict of ColumbiaWashingtonOregonCaliforniaNevadaArizonaUtahIdahoMontanaWyomingColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaNebraskaKansasOklahomaTexasMinnesotaIowaMissouriArkansasLouisianaWisconsinIllinoisMississippiTennesseeAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaMichiganIndianaKentuckyOhioMaineVirginiaWest VirginiaPennsylvaniaNew YorkAlaskaHawaii

Download complete charts of motorcycle-related state laws for Road and Off-Road.