Skip Navigation LinksRights > State Laws

Washington State Motorcycle Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Daytime Use of Headlight
Daytime use of headlight required per state law; R.C.W. 46.37.522
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Required by law unless equipped with windscreen; R.C.W. 46.37.530(b)
Handlebar Height
Maximum of 30" above seat; R.C.W. 46-61-611
Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; R.C.W. 46.61.608 (2),(3)
Lemon Law Coverage
Maximum Sound Level
Max A-weighted sound level as measured at 50 feet:
1)78dBA at 45mph or less
2)82dBA over 45mph
Stationary 20 inch standard:
Models before 1986--99dBA.
Washington Administrative Code 173-62-030
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
Two required by law (with special exceptions: see statute); R.C.W. 46.37.530
Motorcycle Endorsement
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Muffler
Muffler required; R.C.W. 46.37.390
Passenger Age Restriction
Prohibits passenger under age 5; WA Attorney General
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; R.C.W. 46.61.610
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; R.C.W. 46.61.610
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law-random
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants - required under age 18; WA Motorcycle Operator Manual, p.1
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
Safety Helmet
State Insurance Requirements
None required per R.C.W. 46.30.020, 2(b)
Traffic Actuated Signals

Riders are permitted to go through an intersection or turn left onto a left turn intersection, if they have made a complete stop and the traffic control signal has failed to operate after one complete cycle of the traffic signal.
Section 46.61 of the RCW.
 

Turn Signals
Required if originally equipped; R.C.W. 46.37.070

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Required after sunset
Maximum Sound Level
86 db(A) measured at 50 feet
Minimum Operator Age
RCW 46.09.117 Operation by persons under thirteen. (1) Except as specified in subsection (2) of this section, no person under thirteen years of age may operate an off-road vehicle on or across a highway or nonhighway road in this state. (2) Persons under thirteen years of age may operate an off-road vehicle on a nonhighway road designated for off-road vehicle use under the direct supervision of a person eighteen years of age or older possessing a valid license to operate a motor vehicle under chapter 46.20 RCW. [2005 c 213 § 5.]
Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Not Required
Safety Helmet
Required by Law - Effective 1/1/07
Spark Arrestor
Required by law
Taillight
Required after sunset
Trails Program
Available
Vehicle Title
Not Required
VermontNew HampshireMassachusettsRhode IslandConnecticutNew JerseyDelawareMarylandDistrict of ColumbiaWashingtonOregonCaliforniaNevadaArizonaUtahIdahoMontanaWyomingColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaNebraskaKansasOklahomaTexasMinnesotaIowaMissouriArkansasLouisianaWisconsinIllinoisMississippiTennesseeAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaMichiganIndianaKentuckyOhioMaineVirginiaWest VirginiaPennsylvaniaNew YorkAlaskaHawaii

Download complete charts of motorcycle-related state laws for Road and Off-Road.