Skip Navigation LinksRights > State Laws

Tennessee State Motorcycle Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Daytime Use of Headlight
Required by state law; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tenn. Code Ann. 55-8-164(b)
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Required by law unless equipped with windscreen; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tenn. Code Ann. 55-9-304
Handlebar Height
No Restriction
Helmet Speakers
No Restriction
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tenn. Code Ann. 55-8-182 (b),(c)
Lemon Law Coverage
Maximum Sound Level
No acoustical criteria.
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tenn. Code Ann. 55-9-305
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tenn. Code Ann. 55-8-182 (a)
Muffler
Required, cutouts prohibited; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tenn. Code Ann. 55-9-202
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tenn. Code Ann. 55-9-305
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tenn. Code Ann. 55-8-164(a)
Periodic Safety Inspection
None
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tenn. Code Ann. 55-51-102
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
Safety Helmet
Required by law; (to view you will need to agree to the LexisNexis terms of service, then search for) Tennessee Code Annotated 55-9-302
State Insurance Requirements
Effective January 1, 2011
$30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. Drivers will be required to comply with the new limits as their policies are issued or renewed on or after the effective dates.
Traffic Actuated Signals
After a complete stop, motorcycles may proceed through a steady red light with due caution; Tennessee Traffic Control Signals, 55-8-110, 8b.
Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Not Required
Maximum Sound Level
No Limit
Minimum Operator Age
No Restriction
Muffler
Not Required
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Not Required
Safety Helmet
Required under at 18
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Taillight
Not Required
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Required by law
VermontNew HampshireMassachusettsRhode IslandConnecticutNew JerseyDelawareMarylandDistrict of ColumbiaWashingtonOregonCaliforniaNevadaArizonaUtahIdahoMontanaWyomingColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaNebraskaKansasOklahomaTexasMinnesotaIowaMissouriArkansasLouisianaWisconsinIllinoisMississippiTennesseeAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaMichiganIndianaKentuckyOhioMaineVirginiaWest VirginiaPennsylvaniaNew YorkAlaskaHawaii

Download complete charts of motorcycle-related state laws for Road and Off-Road.