Skip Navigation LinksRights > State Laws

Rhode Island State Motorcycle Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
No
Daytime Use of Headlight
No Restriction
Eye Protection
Required by law; RI 31-23-57
Handlebar Height
Maximum of 15" above seat; RI 31-10.1-5
Helmet Speakers
Prohibited to use or possess; RI 31-23-51
Lane Splitting

Not authorized

Maximum Sound Level
Max A-weighted sound level as measured at 50 feet.
1)86dBA at 35 mph or less
2)90dBA above 35 mph.
RI 31-45-1
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law; RI 31-10.1-4
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes
Muffler
Muffler required, cut-outs prohibited; RI 31-23-13
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; RI 31-10.1-6
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; RI 31-10.1-6
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law; RI 31-10.1-7
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants-required for first-time applicants; RI 31-10.1-1.1, RI 31-10.1-1.2
Rider-Education Waiver
No
Safety Helmet
Required by law under age 21 and novice riders, required for passengers; Rhode Island General Laws, Title 31, Chapter 31-10.1, Section 31-10.1-4
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(25/50/25 or $75,000 single limit)
Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Required by law
Headlight
When required for safety
Maximum Sound Level
No Limit
Minimum Operator Age
No Restriction
Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Not Required
Safety Helmet
Required by law
Safety Training
Required under age 16
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Taillight
When required for safety
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Not Required
VermontNew HampshireMassachusettsRhode IslandConnecticutNew JerseyDelawareMarylandDistrict of ColumbiaWashingtonOregonCaliforniaNevadaArizonaUtahIdahoMontanaWyomingColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaNebraskaKansasOklahomaTexasMinnesotaIowaMissouriArkansasLouisianaWisconsinIllinoisMississippiTennesseeAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaMichiganIndianaKentuckyOhioMaineVirginiaWest VirginiaPennsylvaniaNew YorkAlaskaHawaii

Download a complete chart of motorcycle-related state laws