Skip Navigation LinksRights > State Laws

Nevada State Motorcycle Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
Yes
Daytime Use of Headlight
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Required by law unless equipped with windscreen; NRS 486.231
Handlebar Height
Handgrips below shoulder height; NRS 486.201
Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; NRS 486.351
Maximum Sound Level
Max A-weighted sound level as measured at 50 feet:
1) 82dBA less than 35mph
2) 86dBA more than 35mph
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
Two required by law; NRS 486.311
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Muffler
Muffler required. No cutout, bypass or similar device; NRS 484D.415
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; NRS 486.181 (3)
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; NRS 486.181 (1)
Periodic Safety Inspection
Not Required
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants; NV Dept. of Public Safety
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(15/30/10)
Traffic Actuated Signals

Motorcycles may proceed with caution after two complete cycles: NV AB 117

Turn Signals
Required if manufactured in 1973 or after; NRS 486.271

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Not Required
Maximum Sound Level
No Limit
Minimum Operator Age
No Restriction
Muffler
Not Required
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Not Required
Rider Education Certification
Not Required
Safety Helmet
Not Required
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Taillight
Not Required
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Effective January 1, 2006, and in accordance with SB 400 of the 2005 Legislative session, dealers of Off-Highway Vehicles may be authorized to issue Certificates of Operations as evidenced in the form of a sticker. Off-highway vehicles include but are not limited to: all-terrain vehicles, all-terrain motorcycles, dune buggies, snowmobiles and any motor vehicle used on public lands for the purpose of recreation. Only authorized dealers can issue Certificates of Operation. Any entity or person wanting to become an authorized dealer must apply to the Department in writing and receive written confirmation of approval. To be considered for approval, the applicant must be in compliance with the taxation laws of this State, and either has a place of business located in this State and hold a valid Sales Tax Permit or a Certificate of Authority from Nevada. Authorized dealers must make every reasonable effort to provide satisfactory service to the potential certificate holder and the Department of Taxation, make timely reports to the Department of all certificates issued on a form provided by the Department, and maintain possession of all records pertaining to the Certificate of Operation stickers for a period of 5 years.
VermontNew HampshireMassachusettsRhode IslandConnecticutNew JerseyDelawareMarylandDistrict of ColumbiaWashingtonOregonCaliforniaNevadaArizonaUtahIdahoMontanaWyomingColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaNebraskaKansasOklahomaTexasMinnesotaIowaMissouriArkansasLouisianaWisconsinIllinoisMississippiTennesseeAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaMichiganIndianaKentuckyOhioMaineVirginiaWest VirginiaPennsylvaniaNew YorkAlaskaHawaii

Download complete charts of motorcycle-related state laws for Road and Off-Road.