Skip Navigation LinksRights > State Laws

Maine State Motorcycle Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
Yes
Daytime Use of Headlight
Required by law; Section 2062, 2
Eye Protection
No Restriction
Handlebar Height
Handgrips below shoulder height; Section 2062, 3
Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; Section 2062, 5, 6
Maximum Sound Level
No acoustical criteria.
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law; Section 1913
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Muffler
Required; Section 1912, 1
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; ME Inspection Rules (scroll to 16 222, Bureau of State Police and open Ch. 1)
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; Section 2062, 1 (D)
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants.
Required for first-time applicants.
Maine Driver/Rider Education
Rider-Education Waiver
No
Safety Helmet
Required by law for those under age 18; or operating under a learner's permit; or operating less than one year with license/endorsement; or as a passenger of an operator required to wear protective headgear; Maine Revised Statutes, Title 29, Chapter 19, Subchapter 1, Section 2083
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(50/100/25 & $1,000/person for medical payments)
Turn Signals
Required if manufactured in 1974 and after

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Required for ATV's only
Maximum Sound Level
96dba measured at 20 inches
Minimum Operator Age
Must be supervised by a licensed adult if under age 15. Not allowed on public land if under age 10
Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Required if under 16 years of age
Safety Helmet
Required under age 18
Spark Arrestor
Required by law
Taillight
Required for ATV's only
Trails Program
Available
Vehicle Title
Not Required
VermontNew HampshireMassachusettsRhode IslandConnecticutNew JerseyDelawareMarylandDistrict of ColumbiaWashingtonOregonCaliforniaNevadaArizonaUtahIdahoMontanaWyomingColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaNebraskaKansasOklahomaTexasMinnesotaIowaMissouriArkansasLouisianaWisconsinIllinoisMississippiTennesseeAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaMichiganIndianaKentuckyOhioMaineVirginiaWest VirginiaPennsylvaniaNew YorkAlaskaHawaii

Download complete charts of motorcycle-related state laws for Road and Off-Road.