Skip Navigation LinksRights > State Laws

Hawaii State Motorcycle Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
No
Daytime Use of Headlight
No Restriction
Eye Protection
Required by law unless equipped with windscreen
Handlebar Height
Maximum of 15" above seat
Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting
Not authorizd; §291C-153 Operating motorcycles on roadways laned for traffic (b) The operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken. (c) No person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.
Lemon Law Coverage
No.
Maximum Sound Level
Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels range from 61dBA to 91dBA based on measurements taken from 20-50 feet at speeds ranging from 25-60mph.
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes. §291C-153 - Operating motorcycles on roadways laned for traffic. (a) All motorcycles are entitled to full use of a lane and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such a manner as to deprive any motorcycle of the full use of a lane. This subsection shall not apply to motorcycles operated two abreast in a single lane.
Muffler
Exhausts can't be modified, altered, or reparied in such a way that the noise emitted by the vehicle is inreased above that emitted by the vehicle as originally equipped from the factory.
Passenger Age Restriction

Prohibits passengers under age 7; HI Motorcycle Operator Manual, pg. 7

Passenger Footrest

Required if carrying a passenger; HI Motorcycle Operator Manual, pg. 7

Passenger Seat

Required if carrying a passenger; HI Motorcycle Operator Manual, pg. 7

Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill Test
Safety Helmet
Required under age 18-reflectorization required; Hawaii Statutes Title 17, Chapter 286, Part 4, Section 286-81
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(20/40/10) - 15% insurance discount for graduates of rider education program.
Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Not Required
Maximum Sound Level
No Limit
Minimum Operator Age
No Restriction
Muffler
Not Required
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Not Required
Rider Education Certification
Not Required
Safety Helmet
Not Required
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Taillight
Not Required
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Not Required
VermontNew HampshireMassachusettsRhode IslandConnecticutNew JerseyDelawareMarylandDistrict of ColumbiaWashingtonOregonCaliforniaNevadaArizonaUtahIdahoMontanaWyomingColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaNebraskaKansasOklahomaTexasMinnesotaIowaMissouriArkansasLouisianaWisconsinIllinoisMississippiTennesseeAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaMichiganIndianaKentuckyOhioMaineVirginiaWest VirginiaPennsylvaniaNew YorkAlaskaHawaii

Download complete charts of motorcycle-related state laws for Road and Off-Road.