12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Utah State Laws


Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Daytime Use of Headlight
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Not Required
Handlebar Height
Handgrips below shoulder height; 41-6a-1504
Helmet Speakers
No Restriction
Lane Splitting

Refered to as filtering in state law. Effective May 14, 2019. Authorized under the following conditions: 

1) Speed limit on road is 45 mph or less

2) Road must have 2 or more adjacent traffic lanes in the same direction of travel

3) Motorcycles can only lane filter between stopped vehicles

4) Motorcycle speed cannot exceed 15 mph when filtering

5) The movement can be made safely



Lemon Law Coverage
Yes (new vehicles only);  Utah Code - Title 13 - Chapter 20
Maximum Sound Level
No acoustical criteria.
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One on the left side, required by law; 41-6a-1627
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; 41-6a-1502
Required, cut-outs prohibited; 41-6a-1626
Passenger Age Restriction
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; 41-6a-1504
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; 41-6a-1501
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law; 41-1a-205
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants; UT Dept. of Public Safety Scroll down for approved schools.
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill Test
Safety Helmet
Required by law under age 18; Utah Code, Title 41, Chapter 6a, Section 1505
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(25/50/15 or $65,000 single limit)
Traffic Actuated Signals

Affirmative defense: UT Title 41.6a.305

Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required

Required after sunset or if operated on public roads

Maximum Sound Level
No Restriction
Minimum Operator Age
Operation by persons under age 8 prohibited on public lands - Operator who is between ages 8 and 16 must have safety certificate
Required by law
Operator License
Required if not in possession of a valid safety certification
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Required if no drivers license
Safety Helmet

Required under age 21

Spark Arrestor
Required by law

Required after sunset or if operated on public roads

Trails Program
Yes, Available
Vehicle Title
Required by law


Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii