12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Pennsylvania State Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Auxillary Lighting
May be added to protect the operator; PA Vehicle Code 4310
Daytime Use of Headlight
Required for motorcycles built after 1986; PA Vehicle Code 3526
Eye Protection
Required by law; PA Vehicle Code 3525(b)
Handlebar Height
No restrictions
Helmet Speakers
For communication purposes only; PA Vehicle Code 3314
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; PA Vehicle Code 3523 (b),(c)
Maximum Sound Level
Max A-weighted sound levels as measured at 50 feet:
84dBA at 35 mph or less
88dBA above 35mph
PA Administrative Code Section 157.11 (a)
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
Required; PA Vehicle Code 4534
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; PA Vehicle Code 3523 (d)
Muffler
Required, modifications to increase sound level prohibited; PA Vehicle Code 4523
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; PA Vehicle Code 3524
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; PA Vehicle Code 3522
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law; PA Vehicle Code 4708
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants; PA Vehicle Code 7911
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
Safety Helmet
Helmet optional for a person 21 years of age or older who either have been licensed to operate a motorcycle for not less than two full calendar years or have completed a motorcycle rider safety course approved by the department or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. The passenger of a person exempt under this subsection, if the passenger is 21 years of age or older; Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, Title 75, Part III, Chapter 35, Subchapter B, Section 3525
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(15/30/5)
Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Required after sunset
Maximum Sound Level
Sound level shall not exceed 99dba at 20 inches
Minimum Operator Age

Riders must follow age limits on manufacturer’s label conforming to ANSI/SVIA 1 – 2010.  If the ATV has no label, riders 8 or 9 years old can only operate ATV’s with 70cc or smaller engines.  PA 2015-2016 HB 1703.

Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Required if under 16 years of age
Safety Helmet
Required by law
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Taillight
Required after sunset
Trails Program

Separate snowmobile and ATV programs run from dedicated accounts.  2015 Session SB 648.

Vehicle Title
Required by law

States

Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii