12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Oregon State Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Brake Lights
May flash intermittently, provided that the brake light(s) do not override the rear turn signal function; O.R.S. 816.100 (10)
Daytime Use of Headlight
Required by state law; O.R.S. 814.320
Modulating headlight permitted by Oregon Statute 816.050
Eye Protection
Not Required
Handlebar Height
No Restrictions
Headlight

A white headlight, illuminated at all times is required.  Motorcycles must have at least one, but not more than three, white headlights.  Modulating headlights are allowed during daylight hours.

Helmet Speakers
No State Restrictions.
(Some cities have city ordinances disallowing the use of headsets or speakers for all vehicles.)
Lane Splitting
Prohibited; O.R.S. 814.240
Maximum Sound Level

Max A-weighted noise level as measured at 20 inches:
1)Manufactured 1975 and before--102dBA
2) Manufactured after 1975--99dBA
O.R.S. 815.250

Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law; O.R.S. 815.235
Misc. Equipment Regulation

Fenders required on all wheels.

Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; O.R.S. 814.250
Muffler
Muffler required; O.R.S. 815.250
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest

Required if carrying a passenger; O.R.S. 814.325

Passenger Seat

Required if carrying a passenger; O.R.S. 814.325

Periodic Safety Inspection

Required by law-random; O.R.S. 815.015

Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education

Before January 1, 2015, mandatory for all first-time applicants under 61 years of age; effective January 1, 2015, mandatory for all first-time applicants.

Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
Safety Helmet
Required by law; Oregon Revised Statutes 814.269
State Insurance Requirements

Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(25/50/20)

Turn Signals

Required by law; O.R.S. 816.320
Motorcycles manufactured before 1973 are not required to be equipped with turn signals; O.R.S. 816.340

Off Road

Categories

Oregon law considers all vehicles intended for off-highway use to be all-terrain vehicles.

Class I ATV: Quads, Three-wheelers

Class II ATV: Jeeps, Sand Rails, SUVs

Class III ATV: Motorcycles

Class IV ATV: Side-by-sides 

Eye Protection
Not Required
Foot pegs

Required for both rider and passenger.

Headlight
Required after sunset
Maximum Sound Level
99 dBA - Stationary Test at 20 inches. Note: This figure is the maximum sound level. Standards vary from city to city and county to county.
Minimum Operator Age
ATV's: No minimum age, based on Rider Fit Criteria. Motorcycles: 7 years old
Muffler

Operating muffler and exhaust system under 99 db

Note: in the Oregon Coast dunes, a vehicle's muffler must be at or below 93-97 db, depending on the area.

Operator License

ATV safety education card required for operation on public land; see http://www.rideatvoregon.org for details. 

Operators with a suspended or revoked driver’s license may not operate any class ATV.

Effective July 1, 2012: youth under age 16 operative a class IV ATV will need to obtain an operator permit.

Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification

All operators must possess a valid OPRD ATV Safety Education Card.  Youth under 16 must also have hands-on training. 

Ride ATV Oregon

Rider Fit

A class I operator under the age of 16 must meet all the minimum physical size requirements in relationship to the vehicle.

Safety Flag

Required when operating on sand.

Safety Helmet

Operators and passengers under age 18 must wear a DOT-approved motorcycle helmet with the chin strap fastened.

Spark Arrestor
Required
Supervision

All youth operators under age 16 must be supervised by an adult.

Taillight
Required after sunset
Taillight

Required after dark.

Titling

Oregon DMV does not require titling or registering class I, II, III or IV ATVs used solely off-highway.  However, class II and III ATVs used both off and on regular roads are required to be titled and registered.  DMV offers optional titles, without registration, for class I, II and III ATVs used solely off-highway.

Trails Program

ATV Program, Ride ATV Oregon


States

Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii