12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

New Hampshire State Laws


Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
Daytime Use of Headlight
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection

Required unless equipped with a windscreen.

Handlebar Height

No restriction

Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; NH 265:121
Maximum Sound Level
Max sound level of no more than 106dBA when measured 20 inches from the exhaust pipe at a 45 degree angle; NH 266:59
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law; NH 266:78
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; NH 265:121
Required, cut-outs prohibited; NH 266:59
Passenger Age Restriction
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; NH 266:78
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; NH 265:120
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law; NH 266:1
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants; NH Dept. of Safety
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill Test
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(25/50/25) - Financial responsibility required. Persons under 18 must show proof of insurance when applying for driver's license.
Turn Signals
Required by law unless manufactured prior to January 1, 1973; NH 266:42

Off Road

Eye Protection
Required under age 18
Required after sunset
Maximum Sound Level
96dba @ 20 inches
Minimum Operator Age
Under age 14 must be accompanied by a licensed adult over 18
Required by law
Operator License
Over 12 must have safety certificate or drivers license
Required by law - Refer to this link: Laws Digest
Rider Education Certification
Required if 12 year of age and not licensed
Safety Helmet
Required under age 18
Spark Arrestor
Required by law
Required after sunset
Trails Program
Vehicle Title
Not Required


Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii