12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

North Dakota State Laws


Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Daytime Use of Headlight
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Not Required
Handlebar Height
Must be below the shoulders of the seated operator; N.D. C.C. 39-27-06
Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; N.D. C.C. 39-10.2-03 (2),(3)
Maximum Sound Level
All motorcycles operating on streets shall meet noise decibel limitations as established by EPA; N.D. C.C. 39-27-08
Required, cutouts and bypasses prohibited; N.D. C.C. 39-27-08
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; N.D. C.C. 39-10.2-05
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; N.D. C.C. 39-10.2-02
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants-required under age 16; N.D. C.C. 39-06-14 3, c, (1)-(3)
Safety Helmet
Required by law under age of 18, reflectorization required; North Dakota Century Code, Title 39, Motor Vehicles, Chapter 39-10.2, Motorcycles 39-10.2-06
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(25/50/25)
Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Required by law for ATV's only
Maximum Sound Level
No Limit
Minimum Operator Age
Not allowed under 12 years of age for ATV's only - Operator between the ages of 12 & 16 must have safety certificate for ATV's only
Required by law for ATV's only
Operator License
Required by law for ATV's only

Required by law for ATV's only unless registered in another state or used exclusively on private land or for racing. 

Rider Education Certification
Required if 12 years of age and not licensed for ATV's only
Safety Helmet
Required under age 18 for ATV's only
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Required by law for ATV's only
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Not Required


Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii