12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

North Carolina State Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Auxillary Lighting
Any device, other than headlamps, spot lamps, or auxiliary driving lamps, which projects a beam of light of an intensity greater than 25 candlepower, shall be so directed that no part of the beam will strike the level of the surface on which the vehicle stands at a distance of more than 50 feet from the vehicle; N.C.G.S. 20-130 (c)
Daytime Use of Headlight
Required by state law N.C.G.S. 20-129 (c)
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Not Required
Handlebar Height
No Restrictions
Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting

Not authorized

Maximum Sound Level
No acoustical criteria.
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)

One required by law; N.C.G.S. 20-126 (c)

Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; N.C.G.S. 20-146.1
Muffler
Required, cut-outs prohibited; N.C.G.S. 20-128
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; N.C.G.S. 20-140 (1)
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; N.C.G.S. 20-140 (1)
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law; N.C.G.S. 20-183
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants; North Carolina Motorcycle Safety Education Program
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill Test
Safety Helmet
Required by law; North Carolina General Statutes, 20-140.4
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(30/60/25) - Insurance companies may apply to Insurance Bureau for insurance discount for rider education course graduates.
Traffic Actuated Signals
Affirmative Defense - may move cautiously through a steady red indicator after coming to a complete stop and waiting a minimum of 3 minutes; N.C.G.S. 20-158, (e)
Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required - Required for ATV's only
Headlight
Required after sunset.
Maximum Sound Level
No Limit
Minimum Operator Age
Under 16 can only operate if 90cc or less. Under 12 can only operate if 70cc or less. (Minimum operator age is 8 years old. (ATV's only)
Muffler
Required by law.
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Not Required
Rider Education Certification
Required for ATV if child was born after January 1, 1990.
Safety Helmet
Not Required - Required for ATV's only
Spark Arrestor
Required by law.
Taillight
Required after sunset.
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Not Required

States

Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii