12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Michigan State Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
No
Daytime Use of Headlight
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Required by law unless equipped with windscreen. Required at speeds over 35 mph; MI Vehicle Code 257.708a
Handlebar Height
Maximum of 15" above seat; MI Vehicle Code 257.661a
Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; "A person operating a motorcycle, moped, low-speed vehicle, electric personal assistive mobility device, or bicycle shall not pass between lines of traffic, but may pass on the left of traffic moving in his or her direction in the case of a 2-way street, or on the left or right of traffic in the case of a 1-way street, in an unoccupied lan." MI Vehicle Code 257.660
Maximum Sound Level
Maximum allowable A-weighed sound levels as measured from 50 feet:
86dBA at speed over 35mph
82dBA at speed less than 35mph
95dBA under stationary run-up test at 75 inches
MI Vehicle Code 257.707c
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law; MI Vehicle Code 257.708
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; MI Vehicle Code 257.660
Muffler
Muffler required, cut-outs prohibited; MI Vehicle Code 257.707
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; MI Vehicle Code 257.658a
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; MI Vehicle Code 257.658a
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law - random; MI Vehicle Code 257.715
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants-required under age 18; MI Dept. of State
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill Test
Safety Helmet

Required for all motorcycle operators and passengers under 21 years of age. Helmets optional for riders at least 21 years of age with at least $20,000 in first party payable medical benefits, and 2 years riding experience or successful completion of a motorcycle safety course; MCL 257.658. April 2012 State Police Update.

 

State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(20/40/10)
Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Required by law
Headlight
Required after sunset
Maximum Sound Level
94dba measured at 20 inches
Minimum Operator Age
Under 16 years of age cannot operate a three-wheeled ATV - Direct supervision of a person 18 or older if under 16 - Under age 10 not allowed to operate 4-wheel ATV
Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Required if under 16 years of age
Safety Helmet

Required by law

 

Spark Arrestor
Required by law
Taillight
Required after sunset
Trails Program
Available
Vehicle Title
Required by law

States

Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii