12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Maryland State Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
No
Daytime Use of Headlight
No Restriction
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Earplugs
Prohibited by law with the exception of: "Custom Made Earplugs" Refer to: Sectioni 21-1120 of the Maryland Code of Laws.
Eye Protection
Required by law unless equipped with windscreen; MD 21-1306
Handlebar Height
Maximum of 15" above seat; MD Code 21-1305
Helmet Speakers

Not prohibited; Maryland Trans. Code Section 21-1120.

Lane Splitting
Not authorized; § 21-1303. Operating on laned roadways (c) Overtaking and passing.- The operator of a motorcycle may not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken (d) Driving between lanes of traffic prohibited.- A person may not operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles
Lemon Law Coverage
Yes;  Maryland Attorney General
Maximum Sound Level
Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurement distance of 50 feet (Sec. 11.14.07.04): 1)After 7/1/75 82-86dBA 2)after 1/1/79 78-82dBA.
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
Two required by law
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes. § 21-1303 - Operating on laned roadways Motorcycles not to be driven more than two abreast.- Motorcycles may not be operated more than two abreast in a single lane.
Muffler
Muffler required.
No modifications may be made to the muffler which increase the sound level beyond that of the original manufacturer's equipment; MD 22-609
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger: MD Code 21-1305
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; MD 21-1302
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law-upon title transfer
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education

Maryland Motorcycle Safety Program; http://www.mva.maryland.gov/safety/motorcycle/motorcycle-safety.htm

Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(20/40/10)
Turn Signals

Required per COMAR 11.13.03.08
Not required per § 22-206(b)(1)

 

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Required after sunset
Maximum Sound Level
84dba measured at 50 feet
Minimum Operator Age
Not allowed under 12 years of age on public lands - Must have operator's license or learners permit
Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Not Required
Safety Helmet
Not Required
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Taillight
Required after sunset
Trails Program
Available
Vehicle Title
Not Required

States

Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii