12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Illinois State Laws


Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
Daytime Use of Headlight
Required by state law; Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 12-1201(a)
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Required by law unless equipped with windscreen; Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 11-1404
Handlebar Height
Handgrips below head height; Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 11-1403(c)
Helmet Speakers
For Communication Only; Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 11-1403.3
Lane Splitting
Not authorized;  Illinois Vehicle Code, 11-703
Maximum Sound Level
Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50 feet.
80-82dBA at less than 35mph; 86dBA at more than 35mph.
Illinois Enviornmental Protection Regulations, Sec. 902-122
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law; Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 12-102
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Not referenced in Administrative Code or Statutes
Muffler required. Not modified to amplify or increase noise above that emitted by muffler originally installed.
Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 12-602
Passenger Age Restriction
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 11-1405
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 11-1403(a)
Periodic Safety Inspection
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants-required under 18
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
Safety Helmet
Not Required
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(20/40/15)
Traffic Actuated Signals

When a an automated system does not recognize a motorcycle at a red light, the motorcycle may proceed with caution after 120 seconds.  This provision does not include signals within municipalities of over 2,000,000 people.  625 ILCS 5/11-306.

Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Not Required
Maximum Sound Level
No Limit
Minimum Operator Age
No Restriction
Not Required
Operator License
Not Required
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Not Required
Safety Helmet
Not Required
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Not Required
Trails Program
Vehicle Title
Required by law


Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii