12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Iowa State Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
No
Daytime Use of Headlight
Required by state law for model years 1977 or later; IA Code 321.275 (5) Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Not Required
Handlebar Height
No Restrictions
Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting
Not authorized; IA Code 321.275 (4)
Lemon Law Coverage
No
Maximum Sound Level
No acoustical criteria.
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law; IA Code 321.437
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; IA Code 321.275 (4)
Muffler
No acoustical criteria.
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger; IA Code 321.275 (3)
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger; IA Code 321.275 (3)
Periodic Safety Inspection
Not Required
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants-required under age 18; IA DOT
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill Test
Safety Helmet
Not Required
State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(20/40/15) - Financial responsibilty required.
Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Required after sunset
Maximum Sound Level
86dba measured at 50 feet
Minimum Operator Age
It's the Law—Iowa's Off-Road Vehicle Laws Age Restrictions for ATV Operation There are no age restrictions for operating an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) on private land. However, the following age restrictions apply to operation of ATVs on designated public lands and ATV Parks. Under 12 years of age: A person under the age of 12 shall not operate an all-terrain vehicle, including an off-road motorcycle, on a designated riding area or designated riding trail or on ice unless one of the following applies: The person is taking a prescribed safety training course and operation is under the direct supervision of a certified all-terrain vehicle safety instructor. ATV and off-road motorcycle riders under the age of 12 must be under the direct supervision of an adult possessing a valid drivers license. Direct supervision means maintaining visual and verbal contact at all times. 12 to 17 years of age: Persons between the ages of 12 and 17, inclusive, may operate on designated public lands or ice or ATV parks if they have a valid ATV safety certificate. Persons 18 or older: Persons age 18 and up may operate on designated public lands or ice or ATV parks without a valid ATV safety certificate
Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Required if under 16 years of age - Required for ATV riders under age 18
Safety Helmet
Required on funded OHV parks.
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Taillight
Required after sunset
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Required by law

States

Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii