12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Delaware State Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
Yes
Daytime Use of Headlight
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Handlebar Height

No restrictions

Helmet Speakers
No Restrictions
Lane Splitting

Not authorized

Lemon Law Coverage
No.
Maximum Sound Level
Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50 ft from center lane of travel or 20" from exhaust outlet (Sec. 71-II-4. Allowable Noise Levels): 1) Highway Operation less than 35mph--78-80dba; 2) Highway Operation above 35mph--82-84dba; 3)Stationary at 50ft 78-80dba; 4)Stationary at 20"--95dba.
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)

One required by law; DE 41-4308

Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Not referenced in Administrative Code or Statutes
Muffler

Muffler required, no cut-outs DE 21-4311.

Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest

Required if carrying a passenger; DE 21-4185(a)

Passenger Seat

Required if carrying a passenger; DE 21-4185(a)

Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education

Available for all eligible applicants under age 18; DE Motorcycle Training Courses

Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
Safety Helmet

All motorcycle operators and passengers must have an approved helmet in their posession, riders up to 19 must wear helmets; Delaware Code, Title 21, Ch. 41, Subchapter XI, section 4185

State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(15/30/10) - Insurance discount available for 3 years following completion of rider education program.
Turn Signals
Not Required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Required after sunset
Maximum Sound Level
88dba at 60% maximum throttle at 50 feet
Minimum Operator Age

No under 18 can carry passengers, no one under 18 can be a passenger unless ATV is designed for two.  148th General Assembly.  SB 69.

Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Required by law
Safety Helmet

Required by law for all 2 & 3 wheel OHV operators and ATV operators under 18.  148th General Assembly.  SB 69. 

Spark Arrestor
Required by law
Taillight
Required after sunset
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Not Required

States

Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii