12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Connecticut State Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States
No
Daytime Use of Headlight

Required by state law for vehicles manufactured during or after 1980 CT Statutes, Section 5, Title 14: Ch. 248, Sec. 14-289b (c)
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108

Eye Protection

Required by law unless equipped with windscreen; CT Statutes, Section 5, Title 14: Ch. 248, Sec. 14-289d

Handlebar Height

Prohibited above the height of operator's shoulders; CT Statutes, Section 5, Title 14: Ch. 248, Sec. 14-80i

Helmet Speakers
No restrictions
Lane Splitting

Not authorized; Sec. 14-289b

Lemon Law Coverage

Yes; CT Statute 42-743b
 

Maximum Sound Level

Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50 ft from center lane of travel.
Maximum Noise Levels=35mph
Before 1/1/1975 82dba/86dba
On or after 1/1/1975 80dba/84dba
Sec. 14-80a

Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Yes; Sec. 14-289b
Muffler

Muffler required, baffles required, no cut-outs or straight pipes; Sec. 14-80

Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest

Required if carrying a passenger; Sec. 14-289c

Passenger Seat

Required if carrying a passenger; Sec. 14-289a

Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law - random
Radar Detector
No restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants, required under age 18; Conn DOT
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill Test
Safety Helmet

Required by law under age 18, required for instructional permit holders; CT 14-289g

State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(20/40/10) - 10% insurance discount for graduates of motorcycle rider education program.
Turn Signals
Not required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Not required on a machine of 90cc or less and cannot be operated after dark
Maximum Sound Level
Cannot make excessive or unusual noise
Minimum Operator Age
Not allowed under 12 years of age on public lands. Direct supervision of a person less that 16 and at least 12 required by a person who is 18 and properly licensed.
Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Required under age 18
Safety Helmet
Not Required
Spark Arrestor
Not Required
Taillight
Not required on a machine of 90cc or less and cannot be operated after dark
Trails Program
Not Available
Vehicle Title
Not Required

States

Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii