12212223State is not null4 American Motorcyclist Association > Rights > State Laws Database

Colorado State Laws

Road

Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States
Yes
Daytime Use of Headlight
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
Eye Protection
Required by law
Handlebar Height
No Restrictions
Helmet Speakers
No restrictions
Lane Splitting

Not authorized; C.R.S. 42-4-1503 (2) The operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake or pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken. (3) No person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.

Lemon Law Coverage
No.
Maximum Sound Level
Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50 ft from center lane of travel, local authorities may adopt following: 1)Manufactured before 1/1/73--88dba at 35mph or less; 90dba at 35 to 55mph; 2) Manufactured after 1/1/73--86dba at 35mph or less; 90dba at 35 to 55 mph (25-12-107. Powers of Local Authorities).
Mirror Left(L) Right(R)

One required by law; C.R.S. 42-4-226

Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane

Yes; C.R.S. 42-4-1503 All motorcycles are entitled to full use of a traffic lane, and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such a manner as to deprive any motorcycle of the full use of a traffic lane. This subsection (1) shall not apply to motorcycles operated two abreast in a single lane.

Muffler
Required.
Passenger Age Restriction
None
Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger
Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger
Periodic Safety Inspection
Required by law - random
Radar Detector
No Restriction
Rider Education
Available for all eligible applicants
Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test
Safety Helmet

Requires a person under 18 years of age who is an operator of a motorcycle or motorized bicycle or who is a passenger on such vehicles, to wear a protective helmet that is designed according to certain specifications; sets the penalty and surcharge for failing to wear the helmet; sets an additional surcharge for each violation to be deposited in the state Traumatic Brain Injury Trust Fund; C.R.S. 42-4-1502

State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(25/50/15)
Turn Signals
Not required

Off Road

Eye Protection
Not Required
Headlight
Required after sunset
Maximum Sound Level
84 dba at 50 feet
Minimum Operator Age
10 years of age and younger are prohibited from operating an OHV on Public Roads.
Muffler
Required by law
Operator License
Not Required
Registration
Required by law
Rider Education Certification
Not Required
Safety Helmet
Not Required
Spark Arrestor
Required by law
Taillight
Required after sunset
Trails Program
Available
Vehicle Title

Required to sell an OHV unless previously untitled because it came from a state that doesn’t title OHVs or purchased in CO before OHVs were titled.  2016 SB 10.  


States

Select a state

Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Deleware Maryland District of Columbia Washington Oregon California Nevada Arizona Utah Idaho Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Wisconsin Illinois Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Michigan Indiana Kentucky Ohio Maine Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Alaska Hawaii