Motocross of Nations

The Motocross of Nations is one of the most high-profile motorsport events in the world. It features national teams competing for a combined score to determine the overall championship-winning country. The event emerged in post-war Europe in 1947 and has run uninterrupted since that time.

Governed by the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme, the Motocross of Nations features three-rider teams competing on 450cc four-strokes and 250cc four-strokes in three classes: MXGP (450cc), MX2 (250cc) and Open (250cc or 450cc).

The U.S. team is selected by the AMA, under advisement of a committee that includes longtime members of the motocross community.

2018 Motocross of Nations

Oct. 6-7
Buchanan, Mich. (RedBud MX)

U.S. Team History

2017: Winchester, United Kingdom; Zach Osborne, Thomas Covington, Cole Seely; 9th
2016: Maggiora, Italy; Jason Anderson, Alex Martin, Cooper Webb; 3rd
2015: Ernee, France; Jeremy Martin, Justin Barcia, Cooper Webb; 2nd
2014: Kegums, Latvia; Ryan Dungey, Eli Tomac, Jeremy Martin; 3rd
2013: Teutschenthal, Germany; Ryan Dungey, Justin Barcia, Eli Tomac; 2nd
2012: Lommel, Belgium, Ryan Dungey, Justin Barcia, Blake Baggett; 3rd
2011: St. Jean d’Angely, France, Ryan Dungey, Ryan Villopoto, Blake Baggett; 1st
2010: Lakewood, Colo., Ryan Dungey, Trey Canard, Andrew Short; 1st
2009: Franciacorta, Italy, Ryan Dungey, Ivan Tedesco, Jake Weimer; 1st
2008: Donington Park, Great Britain, James Stewart, Ryan Villopoto, Tim Ferry; 1st
2007: Budds Creek, Md., Ricky Carmichael, Ryan Villopoto, Timmy Ferry; 1st
2006: Matterly Basin, Winchester, England, Ivan Tedesco, James Stewart, Ryan Villopoto, Ricky Carmichael; 1st
2005: Ernee, France, Ricky Carmichael, Kevin Windham, Ivan Tedesco; 1st
2004: Lierop, Netherlands, No U.S. Team
2003: Zolder, Belgium, Ricky Carmichael, Tim Ferry, Ryan Hughes; 2nd
2002: Bellpuig, Spain, No U.S. Team
2001: Namur, Belgium, Mike Brown, Kevin Windham, Ricky Carmichael; Withdrew
2000: St. Jean d’ Angely, France, Ryan Hughes, Ricky Carmichael, Travis Pastrana; 1st
1999: Indaiatuba, Brazil, Mike LaRocco, Kevin Windham, Ricky Carmichael; 4th
1998: Foxhill, England, John Dowd, Doug Henry, Ricky Carmichael; 5th
1997: Nismes, Belgium, John Dowd, Jeff Emig, Steve Lamson; 8th
1996: Jerez, Spain, Jeremy McGrath, Jeff Emig, Steve Lamson; 1st
1995: Povazska Bystrica, Slovak Rep., Steve Lamson, Jeff Emig, Ryan Hughes; 2nd
1994: Roggenburg, Switzerland, Jeff Emig, Mike Kiedrowski, Mike LaRocco; 2nd
1993: Schwanenstadt, Austria, Jeff Emig, Jeremy McGrath, Mike Kiedrowski; 1st
1992: Manjimup, Australia, Billy Liles, Mike LaRocco, Jeff Emig; 1st
1991: Valkenswaard, Netherlands, Mike Kiedrowski, Jeff Stanton, Damon Bradshaw; 1st
1990: Vimmerby, Sweden Jeff Ward, Jeff Stanton, Damon Bradshaw; 1st
1989: Gaildorf, Germany, Jeff Ward, Jeff Stanton, Mike Kiedrowski; 1st
1988: Dung, France, Ron Lechien, Rick Johnson, Jeff Ward; 1st
1987: New Berlin, N.Y.; Bob Hannah, Rick Johnson, Jeff Ward; 1st
1986: Maggiora, Italy; David Bailey, Rick Johnson, Johnny O’Mara; 1st
1985: Gaildorf, Germany; David Bailey, Jeff Ward, Ron Lechien; 1st
1984: Vanta, Finland; Rick Johnson, Johnny O’Mara, Jeff Ward, David Bailey; 1st
1983: Bruxelles, Belgium; David Bailey, Mark Barnett, Jeff Ward, Broc Glover; 1st
1982: Wohlen, Switzerland; David Bailey, Johnny O’Mara, Danny Chandler, Jim Gibson; 1st
1981: Beilstein, Germany; Chuck Sun, Johnny O’Mara, Danny LaPorte, Donnie Hansen; 1st
1980: Wiltshire, England; No U.S. Team
1979: Stockholm, Sweden; No U.S. Team
1978: Gaildorf, Germany; Bob Hannah, Rick Burgett, Chuck Sun, Tommy Croft; 4th
1977: Cognac, France; Kent Howerton, Tony DiStefano, Gary Semics, Steve Stackable; 2nd
1976: St. Anthonis, Netherlands; Rex Staten, Bob Hannah, Tony DiStefano, Kent Howerton; 5th
1975: Prague, Czechoslovakia; Jim Pomeroy, Brad Lackey, Kent Howerton, Tony DiStefano; 9th
1974: Stockholm, Sweden; Jim Pomeroy, Brad Lackey, Tony DiStefano, Jim Weinert; 2nd
1973: Bohlen, Switzerland; John DeSoto, Jim Pomeroy, Mike Hartwig; 4th
1972: Norg, Netherlands; Gary Jones, Jim Weinert, Brad Lackey, Jim Pomeroy; 7th