Skip Navigation LinksNewsView
All news

Chad Wienen trying for fifth win in ATV motocross action this weekend

July 03, 2013

Chad Wienen holds the No. 1 plate on the podium.

Series points leader and defending champion Chad Wienen hopes to claim his fifth consecutive win in the AMA Mountain Dew ATV Motocross National Championship Series at the Steel City round in Delmont, Pa., July 6-7.

Wienen earned his fourth consecutive overall win of the season in Danville, Va., on June 8.

At that event, two-time national champion Joe Byrd snagged the moto 1 SSi Decals Holeshot award aboard his Joe Byrd Quad Riding School Dasa Honda.  Wienen was right behind Byrd coming out of the first turn and it wasn't long before the Wienen Motorsports SSi Walsh Yamaha presented by Maxxis Tires & Team Vollmer rider came through the field and made a pass into the lead.

Even with the wet conditions, Wienen was able to ride a comfortable pace to secure a seven-second lead over the second place rider in the first moto.

In the second moto, Natalie shot out of the gate and grabbed the SSi Decals Holeshot Award. He took advantage of his great start and drove into a pace that set him up for a comfortable lead on the rest of the field. Natalie took the second moto win with a 10-second lead over second, salvaging a fifth-place overall finish for the weekend.

Josh Upperman came out of the first turn in second on his Honda and had pressure from behind nearly the entire moto. But he was able to hold his position. The second-place finish secured second place overall for the weekend and his first podium of the 2013 season.

Wienen followed out of the first turn in third and despite trying to make a pass into second was unsuccessful. He went on to finish the moto in third and took his fourth consecutive overall win of the season with a 1-3 finish for the day.

AMA ATV Pro MX Results, Danville, Va.

1. Chad Wienen, Yamaha, 2. Josh Upperman, Honda, 3. Thomas Brown, Yamaha, 4. Joe Byrd, Honda, 5. John Natalie, Honda, 6. Josh Creamer, Can-Am, 7. Jeffrey Rastrelli, Can-Am, 8. Nick Denoble, Suzuki, 9. Brad Riley, Honda, 10. Casey Martin, Honda. 

AMA ATV Motocross Championship Pro Point Standings After Six Rounds

1. Chad Wienen (266) 2. Thomas Brown (228) 3. Josh Creamer (216) 4. John Natalie (200) 5. Josh Upperman (196) 6. Joel Hetrick (187) 7. Joe Byrd (167) 8. Nick Denoble (145) 9. Jeffrey Rastrelli (142) 10. Casey Martin (111).

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark