Skip Navigation LinksNewsView
All news

Shane Green wins night-climb

June 26, 2013

The following is an industry press release...

At the AMA Pro Hillclimb Series' annual night hillclimb, Shane Green chalked up his first Unlimited Class win of the season with one blistering run up the Devil's Staircase. John Koester posted his third win in a row in Xtreme Class in this, his rookie year in the class. Newcomer, Ryan Preece took the win in Pro Sport on his first appearance of the year.

Green rode first in the order, and posted a 7.436 E.T., just before a cloudburst turned the hill surface to grease. 2012 Champ, Vinny Nuzzolilli laid down a fast ride, just three-tenths off the pace. After the half, Koester advanced two spots with a 7.439-second ride for second place by just 0.003 of a second. Jay Sallstrom retains series points lead, just 2 ahead of Nuzzolilli and Koester.

In Xtreme action, the first half rides got progressively faster with Koester cresting in 7.330 (faster than the Unlimited Class fast times). None of the leaders posted better times in the second half, after the rain. The Xtreme podium was a reshuffle of the Unlimited winners with Nuzzolilli and Green in second and third, respectively. Koester said his secret to a successful season so far has been “pinning it and holding on,” seems to be working, since he leads series points by 14.

In Pro Sport, Preece rode near the end of the order and paid attention the riders before him. His 9.529-second ride in the first half was fastest and stood without credible challenge in the second half. He was joined on the podium by second-place, Nick Drummer and third-place, current points leader- Nick Bleau.


U/L: 1. Shane Green (Hon); 2. John Koester (Hon); 3. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon); 4. Chris Chartier, Jr. (Yam); 5. Jay Sallstrom (Yam).

Xtreme: 1. John Koester (Hon); 2. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon); 3. Shane Green (Hon); 4. Jockamo Baldina (Hon); 5. Jay Sallstrom (Yam).

Pro Sport: 1. Ryan Preece (Hon); 2. Nick Drummer (Hon); 3. Nick Bleau (Hon); 4. Broc Williamson (Hon); 5. Devin Sweitzer (Hon).

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark