Skip Navigation LinksNews
All news

BSA Rocket Goldstar wins Best of Show at 2012 Concours

November 30, 2012

An exquisitely restored 1963 BSA Rocket Goldstar, owned by Jerry Garrett from Dayton, Nev., won Best of Show at the 2012 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d'Elegance. The bike show, part of AMA Legends Weekend, featured amazingly restored and original masterpieces from all areas of motorcycling.

Garrett says he has always had a passion for BSAs.

"I grew up with A10 BSAs in the early ‘60s, for my everyday transportation and for dirt riding, and during high school even worked for Bob Chaves BSA in San Jose. I have owned A10s ever since," he says.

Photos from the event are available in the Hall of Fame's online photo gallery.

Jerry Garrett, from Dayton, Nev., with his 1963 BSA Goldstar

2012 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d'Elegance Class Winners

Best of Show
Jerry Garrett’s 1963 BSA Rocket Goldstar

Best Preservation
Dick Burleson’s 1978 Husqvarna 250 WR, raced by Dick Burleson

Antique American to 1950
First Place: Bob Mitchell’s 1939 Indian Four
Second Place: Mike DeMille’s 1905 Harley-Davidson Single
Third Place: Mike DeMille’s 1908 Harley-Davidson Single

Classic American 1951-1987
First Place: Kevin A. Goe’s 1959 Harley-Davidson FLH Panhead
Second Place: Bob Clift’s 1953 Indian Chief
Third Place: Vinnie Mandzak’s 1983 Harley-Davidson XR 1000

Antique British to 1960
First Place: James Shaffer’s 1956 Ariel Square Four with Garrard Sidecar
Second Place: Jerry Garrett’s 1959 BSA Spitfire Scrambler
Third Place: Brad Boyle’s 1926 Scott Super Squirrel

Classic British 1961-1987
First Place: Don Harrell’s 1969 BSA Victor Special
Second Place: Brad Boyle’s 1973 Norton Commando

Antique European to 1960
First Place: Rick Huemmerich’s 1954 BMW R68
Second Place: Phil & Mary Blackburn’s 1952 BMW 67/2
Third Place: Chris Carter’s 1931 Husqvarna 200/500cc

Classic European 1961-1987
First Place: Brad Boyle’s 1968 Husqvarna Rebel I
Second Place: Brad Boyle’s 1972 Husqvarna Rebel II

Antique Japanese to 1970
First Place: Chris Carter’s 1967 Yamaha YL1
Second Place: Brad Boyle’s 1964 Honda Scrambler
Third Place: Paul Williams’ 1969 Honda CL350 Scrambler

Classic Japanese 1971-1987
First Place: Dan Ambrecht’s 1975 Kawasaki H-2 Mach IV
Second Place: Brad Boyle’s 1980 Honda CBX

Antique Competition to 1970
First Place: Don Harrell’s 1965 BSA Hornet
Second Place: Marshall Baker’s 1969 Rickman/Suzuki T500 Road Racer
Third Place: Kelly Owen’s 1968 Husqvarna Viking

Classic Competition 1971-1987
First Place: Steve Bonner’s 1971 Husqvarna 400 Cross
Second Place: Rick Doughty/Moto Armory’s Hercules
Third Place: Kelly Owen’s 1971 Harley-Davidson Baja

Classic Specials & Customs
First Place: Cathryn Biler’s 2012 Victory Black Cat Special
Second Place: Bill Biler’s 2012 Custom BB Special
Third Place: Scot Harden’s 2012 Zero Motorcycle 900 TT Tracker

Historic Racing Machines
First Place: Kenny Roberts’ 1980 OW 48, raced by Kenny Roberts, tuned by Nobby Clark
Second Place: Gavin Trippe’s 1962 Honda RC162, tuned by Nobby Clark
Third Place: Rod Bush’s 2005 KTM 950 Adventure

Special Motorcycle Awards
The Early Years of Motocross Museum – Al Bergstrom’s 1969 Harley-Davidson KR750 raced by Mert Lawwill
The Dave Mungenast Classic Motorcycles Museum – Dan Ambrecht’s 1975 Kawasaki H2
Malcolm Smith – Phil & Mary Blackburn’s 1951 Norton ES2
The Kelly Owen Collection – Don Harrell’s 1961 BSA Spitfire Scrambler
Mert Lawwill – Chris Carter’s 1931 Husqvarna
Sue Fish – Kenny Roberts’ 1977 Yamaha Works Miler, raced by Kenny Roberts
The John Penton Award – Homer D. Knapp’s 1928 Harley-Davidson J-D Racer

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark